Disney and Gender Roles Cont.

Before I look into how Disney has tried to stray away from the gender stereotypical roles they have placed on the princesses I wanted to continue with the roles they already made. I found this article that has given 9 harmful stereotypes we might not have ever realized Disney taught us. After reading them I thought it was very interesting because they do seem noticeable but we get so caught up in the princesses finding their true love and being happy that we forget about it, forget that do they really need a man to be happy or always have to clean or be pretty or super nice to get the man? In the article it also starts to talk about how Disney is adding in new and different things to movies for how a princess can be but it will take a long time for Disney to fix their wrongs. Take a look and let me know what you think. http://mic.com/articles/88167/9-harmful-stereotypes-we-never-realized-our-favorite-disney-movies-taught-us

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. brookieash
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 23:03:15

    This is a very interesting article about the stereotypes that Disney movies have taught us. I’m glad that they are starting to make changes in Disney movies because I believe these stereotypes can be extremely harmful to young girls. Young girls grow up wanting to be “pretty princesses” if they are into Disney movies. As they grow up, they have these unrealistic ideas of love, self-image, friendships, and more. I think it is really hard to shake these ideals since they grew up with them and believed in them their whole lives. Also, I don’t think parents of these children realize the damage, so they do not think to correct it their entire lives. This may lead to serious issues later in life.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment